California Association of School Psychologists



 

History of the Association


Founded in 1953 and located in Sacramento, the California Association of School Psychologists (CASP) is the statewide membership organization for school psychologists in California. With a membership close to 1,800, CASP is the largest statewide organization of school psychologists in the nation and the strongest voice for psychologists practicing in California’s schools. In addition to providing liaison with various state boards and commissions, CASP actively represents the profession to legislative audiences, governmental officials, and other policy-making bodies. The Association provides continuing professional development to the membership through regional training programs and an annual convention. Publications of the Association include quarterly newsletter and a quarterly, peer-reviewed research journal.

The CASP membership is comprised of individuals who work in school districts, and in private practice throughout the state, helping school personnel–teachers, administrators, and counselors–support student education and solve related learning, social, and adjustment problems. Working, also, with parents of students, school psychologists link homes, classrooms, and school systems to promote the mental health, learning, and welfare of California’s children and youth.

The Association’s governance structure is reflected in a 15-member Executive Board and an appointed slate of committee chairs and members who, together, complete the Board of Directors. The Executive Board is charged with policy-making for the organization and takes input and recommendations from committee chairs and the executive director in this regard. The work of the Association is carried out through the efforts of staff and volunteers, coordinated on a daily basis by the Executive Director.

Landmark Events in the History of CASP

  • 1950 – First Conference of Psychologists and Psychometrists, sponsored by the California Department of Education and College of the Pacific
  • 1953 – First California Association of School Psychologists and Psychometrists (CASPP) committees established; inaugural issue of the newsletter
  • 1963 – First affiliate established in Orange County
  • 1967 – Statewide office established in Burlingame, California
  • 1968 – CASPP representatives meet with Ohio School Psychologists Association to discuss a new national school psychologist association; first staff member, Sandra Goff, hired
  • 1969 – CASPP Code of Ethics established
  • 1971 – NASP/CASPP Joint Conference
  • 1975 – Outstanding School Psychologist award established
  • 1979 – NASP/CASPP Joint Conference
  • 1980 – Sandra Goff award established
  • 1983 – CASPP becomes CASP
  • 1985 – CASP band, the “Severe Discrepancies” play the Convention
  • 1989 – J. Richard Russo, CASP executive director for 14 years retires; Dr. Joe Platow replaces him
  • 1991 – CASP Membership reaches 2200
  • 1994 – First non-school psychologist executive director hired, Chris Otis
  • 1996 – Membership tops 2600
  • 1997 – NASP/CASP Partnership Convention
  • 1998 – California School Psychology Foundation established
  • 1999 – Second non-school psychologist executive director hired, Suzanne Fisher; Certified Advanced Training Certificate Program established in Functional Analysis and Behavior Intervention
  • 2001 – Corporate membership program established
  • 2003 – Certified Advanced Training Certificate Program in School Crisis Prevention,
    Response and Intervention is established. This program was the basis for the National Association of School Psychologists’ PREPaRE program.
  • 2007 – CASP launches its third Certified Advanced Training Certificate Program, this one
    on English Language Learners and Bilingual Assessment. In addition, CASP, in partnership with the Association of California School Administrators, launches the RTI Project, a full range of training and consultation services in the area of RtI training, program development, and program assessment a webinar and live workshop series, for individuals, school districts and county offices of education
  • 2009 – CASP moves from K Street in Sacramento, to 12th Street, still in Sacramento.
  • 2012 – CASP moves annual convention from Spring to Fall, continues with a smaller
    conference each spring.
  • 2013 – Third non-school psychologist executive director hired; Heidi Holmblad.

CASP’s Vision & Mission Statement


Vision Statement

The Vision of the California Association of School Psychologists is to foster the social, emotional and academic wellbeing of all students by collaborating with families, school staff, and the community to ensure that students are educated in schools that support equity, access, and respect for all.

Adopted by the Board of Directors in November 2014.

Mission Statement

CASP’s Mission is to provide high quality educational and leadership programs, that maintain high standards of practice for school psychologists through legislative advocacy, professional development, communications, publications, ethics guidelines, and direct services to members, to enable the growth and development of the profession, and to ensure safe, healthy, and successful outcomes for the children, schools and communities we serve.

Adopted by the CASP Board of Directors, December 2014.

CASP Presidents and Awardees


A list of CASP’s current and past presidents can be found here.

A list of CASP’s awardees can be found here.

Board of Directors 2018-2019


CASP Board Position First Name Last Name Email Address
President Brian Leung Casp2018leung@gmail.com
Past President Pedro Olvera dr.pedro.olvera@gmail.com
President Elect Maureen Schroeder maureen.schroeder209@gmail.com
Secretary/Treasurer Jeannine Topalian jeannine.topalian@lausd.net
Affiliate Representative Sarah Rodriguez srodabler@gmail.com
Region I Representative Deanna Fontanes Halliday fontaneshalliday.deanna@gmail.com
Region II Representative Michael Giambona mgiambona@yahoo.com
Region III Representative Melissa Wood mwood@taftcity.org
Region IV Representative Zamecia McCorvey zeemccorvey@gmail.com
Region V Representative Reynaldo Vargas revargas@dusd.net
Region VI Representative Ali Duerks aduerks@romoland.net
Region VII Representative Gabriel Gutierrez dr.ggutierrez@gmail.com
Region VIII Representative Danielle Edwards danielle.edwards@simivalleyusd.org
Region IX Representative Arpita Mandal arpita.k.mandal@gmail.com
Region X Representative Armando Fernandez afernaac@egusd.net
Convention Chair Amy Balmanno amybalmanno@yahoo.com
Specialist, Ethics/Professional Standards Kristin Makena kmakena@sandi.net
Chair, Position Papers/Political Action Cathi Christo catherinechristo@gmail.com
Specialist, CSP Chair-Editorial Board Michael Hass mhass@chapman.edu
Chair, Publications; Chair, Research Haylea Drysdale Fricker haylea.drysdale@gmail.com
LEP Specialist Chris Jones cjones@dynamicinterventions.net
Legislative Chair Doug Siembieda dsiembieda@hbuhsd.edu
Student Leadership Coordinator Vhenus Belisle vbelisle@losal.org
Chair, Advocacy and Leadership Tom Sopp tsopp@lbschools.net
CASP Alumni Coordinator Lynne Aung lynneaung1942@gmail.com
Chair, Mental Health and Crisis Consultation Susan Coats coatslep@gmail.com
Chair, Cultural and Linguistic Diversity Danett Williams danettwilliams@mckusd.org
Membership Chair Rodrigo Enciso renciso@sandcasp.com
Specialist, Assessment Penny Duarte pduarte@powayusd.com
Student Leadership Council Representative Mary Dishigrikyan mdishig1@lion.lmu.edu
SIG-Spirituality Catherine Ogden catherineogden83@gmail.com
SIG-Preschool Deni Dayan ddayan@fcoe.org
SIG-Charter Schools Lily Sais lilyann904@mac.com
SIG-Dual Language Carol Robinson-Zanartu crobinsn@mail.sdsu.edu
SIG-MTSS Sue Goldman 121143pvct@att.net
NASP Delegate Maureen Schroeder mschroeder209@gmail.com
SPEC Liaison Jean Ramage jeanramage@verizon.net
Corporate Liaison Ellen Balsys-Murphy ellen.murphy@pearson.com
CTA State Liaison Josie Meza Malik josiemalik1@gmail.com
CSP Foundation Board Member-President Barbara D’Incau barbaradincau@me.com
CSP Foundation-CASP President Brian Leung Casp2018leung@gmail.com
CSP Foundation-President-Elect Maureen Schroeder maureen.schroeder209@gmail.com
CSP Foundation-CASP Past President Pedro Olvera dr.pedro.olvera@gmail.com
CSP Foundation-CASP Executive Director Heidi Holmblad executivedirector@casponline.org
CSP Foundation Board Member Lore’K Garofola lorek.garofola@mhs.com
CSP Foundation Board Member Armando Fernandez afernaac@egusd.net
CSP Foundation Board Member Kimberly Robinson krobinson@stocktonusd.net
CSP Foundation Board Member Jenny Ponzuric jennylynnjones129@gmail.com

Executive Committee and Voting Members

 


Brian Leung, President

Pedro Olvera, Past President

Maureen Schroeder, President Elect

 


Jeannine Topalian, Secretary/Treasurer

Sarah Rodriguez, Affiliate Representative

Deanna Fontanes Halliday, Region I Representative

 


Michael Giambona, Region II Representative

Melissa Wood, Region III Representative

Zamecia McCorvey, Region IV Representative

 


Reynaldo Vargas, Region V Representative

Ali Duerks, Region VI Representative

Gabriel Gutierrez, Region VII Representative

 


Danielle Edwards, Region VIII Representative

Arpita Mandal, Region IX Representative

Armando Fernandez, Region X Representative

 

Annual Reports


Each year CASP will publish an annual report highliting accomplishments, survey results, and other activies.

 

CASP Staff






Heidi Holmblad
Executive Director

 





EJ Reyna
Lead Member Services

 





Kathy Little
Member Services

 





Raina LeGarreta
Communications Specialist

 





Josh Johnson
Webmaster

 

Affiliates


In order to further the purposes of the Association as stated in the Constitution and/or By-Laws, CASP encourages its members to form local associations throughout the state. CASP encourages its members to join the CASP Affiliate whose boundaries include the location of a member’s place of employment.

For more information visit the offical CASP Affiliates Page.

Speakers Bureau


The following individuals are interested in speaking or training on school psychology topics. Many of those listed have presented workshops at a CASP convention. Speakers may be available on a fee or no fee basis. All negotiations are handled by the requesting organization and the speaker. CASP is not responsible for speaker content, or quality of presentation. It is recommended that the soliciting organizations request and evaluate all available background information prior to contracting with a speaker.

View list of speakers

If you are interested in adding your name to the CASP Speakers Bureau, please email Member Services. Please include your full name, topic(s), and city that you live in.

CSP Foundation


The California School Psychology Foundation (CSPF) was established in 1998 as a separate, yet supporting, organization of the California Association of School Psychologists.

The Vision of the California School Psychology Foundation is to engage in the purposeful activity to create the scaffolding to build and sustain the image of the SCHOOL PSYCHOLOGIST and increase the visibility of the profession in the field.

Continue to CSP Foundation page for more information about the foundation, awards and scholarships.

Corporate Members





 



 

Download corporate membership application

FAQs


Coming soon, for questions email Member Services.

Additional Sites of Interest


National

State

Resources for Grants

Additional Online Resources

 

Publications


To view all CASP related publications ranging from journals, newsletters, position papers and more, visit the CASP publications page.

DMCA Notices


For anything related to the Digital Millenium Copyright Act, see CASP’s DMCA Policy.